Customer Service

Alasya smiled at the young waiter who had brought across her coffee. He had been brisk and efficient but had still managed an old world courtesy that was rare. From his accent she assumed he was recruited from Psi Albia, the registered home world of the Icon of Space.

She had chosen her position carefully. It was on the mezzanine deck overlooking the main passenger lounge. If she wished she could keep an eye on all those leaving and entering below, but due to the positioning of a rather elegant potted palm, she was not easy to see.

As the waiter made his way back to the small bar, Alasya did wonder what he made of her. She had caught a glimpse of herself in the mirror as she had climbed the stairs. A short thickset lady in her fifties wearing a heavy tweed skirt that came just below her knee, and a matching jacket.

She smiled at herself, sipped the coffee appreciatively and picked up her bag from beside her chair. Opening it she took out the novel. It was a comfortingly thick fantasy of manners classic by the author Tarin Aslan. Found on a popup second hand bookstall in Touchdown Spaceport, it was one of the few things she had brought with her from the planet. That and the high-powered energy pistol that nestled snuggly next to the pouch which contained her embroidery. She took another sip of her coffee, wiggled her shoulders a little to sink more deeply into the chair and opened her book.

***

Alasya was forced to admit that Aslan was on top of his form. She didn’t notice the ship’s officer until he arrived on the mezzanine deck. She looked up from her book and smiled at him. He bowed slightly, and when she gestured to the chair on the other side of the table he sat down.

“To what do I owe the honour of this visit, I trust my papers are in order?”

That won her a smile. “Madam, I have rarely seen papers so bland and innocuous.”

“I hadn’t realised that my utter irrelevance would of itself bring me to your attention. I apologise for falling below the high standards of notoriety that the Icon of Space expects from its passengers.”

“It wasn’t your papers that attracted our attention. It is the fact that you arrived with one comparatively small bag. Whilst you did check a laser carbine in with our purser, within your bag you still have a blaster pistol of impressive efficacy. Our captain is a man of delicate sensitivities, with an instinctive nervousness when forced to contemplate the topic of pirates and hijackers. Thus he asked me, Johann, as security officer, to discuss the matter with you.”

Alasya opened her bag, allowing the officer to see the pistol. “The reason is simple. I am, by profession, a security consultant. There are times when I might feel my life is threatened?”

“But you handed over your laser carbine.”
“That is a sign of my failure.”

The officer looked surprised, “Failure?”

“Yes. On the good jobs, I am a security consultant, wear a skirt and carry the pistol discreetly. When my luck runs out and work is short I am a mercenary, wear fatigues and carry the carbine.” She allowed herself to smile, “Generally wearing a skirt and carrying the pistol pays better and frankly it can be safer.”
“I understand.” The officer glanced at the bag. “Are you expecting to be attacked on this trip?”
“I am between jobs.”
“Then given the fragile nervous state of our captain, would you make life easy for an underpaid security officer and let me look after the pistol for you?”

She reached into the bag and passed him the weapon, butt first. “And if I am attacked then I shall hitch up my skirts and flee at my best speed in an attempt to find you.”

“Here on the Icon of Space, company policy frowns upon those who try to assassinate our clientele.” He grew more serious. “So you are between commissions”

“Yes. I would be grateful for any suggestions as to where work could be found. In my last job I was rather out of the loop.”

The officer leaned back in his chair, the pistol on his lap. “Of the worlds we normally visit, Beruna is boisterous at times but in reality it’s both peaceful and civilised. Vordania Secundas might have work for you, but it’s more bodyguard stuff as politics can be a bit rough. Adhira is always hiring but I suspect you wouldn’t like it. Their government is a bit too authoritarian for my taste and they have trouble with a wide range of ‘subversives’.”
Alasya was sure she could hear the inverted commas.

The officer continued. “There’s always Derin Su. A lot of companies, no proper government, and all sorts of interests keeping the pot well stirred.”

♥♥♥♥

Apparently people expected there to be more to the last episode I published, so I’ve had to work out what on earth has been happening!

This story mentions Touchdown. In case you don’t know it, it’s mentioned in the novel, ‘In on a Chance’. Available from Amazon on Kindle for £3.50 or £11.00 in paperback
There isn’t a prize for the person who finds Alasya 🙂

It’s also available from Wargame Vault in pdf for £3.50

https://www.wargamevault.com/product/370706/In-On-a-Chance

And Ali across at Iliada Game Studio is working on some 3D printed figures to go with the world of Derin Su (and all sorts of other places)

You can see his stls here

https://www.wargamevault.com/browse/pub/12750/IliadaGameStudio/subcategory/29755_44973/STLs

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started